The Wild Bunch Forums
The Wild Bunch Forums
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Message Board
 Gossip and Chat
 Wild Bunch 22nd Prize Presentation Dinner News
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

WB Admin

United Kingdom
1126 Posts

Posted - 02 Dec 2017 :  13:44:42  Show Profile  Reply with Quote

Prize Presentation 22nd Year of the Wild Bunch

Hi folks!

What a great evening we all had again at our Annual Prize Presentation Dinner Dance at Drayton Manor on Saturday 25th November!! Another fantastic event, celebrating our 22nd season!!

Barry Bohannon and Paul Wright were again our brilliant MCs for the evening, and we had some special presentations to add to the trophies given to our Series and Merit award winners.

The evening was dedicated to two dear friends and racers who are sadly no longer with us, Tom Larman of Team Ferret and Sag Southworth of Team Daddy Cool. Hugely missed and very much in our thoughts and hearts during the evening. Craig made a lovely moving speech in tribute to his Dad, and Elaine took to the mic a couple of times with moving tributes to husband Sag. We miss them both dearly, as we do Scottie.

Flowers were presented thanks to Mark Coulsell, and on behalf of the Wild Bunch, to: Hayley Fyfe, Anna Cassisi, Lynne Coulsell and Claire Meaddows. Gifts were given to all ladies attending.

We were able to present the belated NSRA award for the Quickest Wild Bunch car at the Hot Rod Drags to Chris Manning with ‘The Villain’ for his stunning 7.96 in his fantastic slingshot!!

Various messages were read noting some highlights of the season. We thanked Helen and David of Zeon TV for filming and showing the fantastic DVD of this season’s racing! This is on sale now from ! We also gave huge thanks to the entire team at Shakey for all they do for all of us racers and crew! So very much appreciated!!

Commemorative presentations were given to:

Ed Yates – for the Wild Bunch website
Steve Field – for Services to the committee in 2015 & 2016, and his retirement from the committee
Lynne Coulsell - for being the Wild Bunch Secretary and extra co-ordination and help this year
Mark Coulsell – for Wild Bunch Committee, extra help co-ordinating and Pit Running
Claire Meaddows - for being Wild Bunch Race Co-ordinator & Treasurer & GM

We made two special presentations in recognition of some outstanding achievements this year, to Craig Larman, to say we are proud of him and well done for his personal achievement, and to Alan Grimes, for his more than 25 years of Career Crew Chief Achievement, and supporting his team and helping achieve that magic 150mph, and commemorating this milestone.


Big Bang Trophy - Lee Hartnell “Metal Mistress”

Fastest time by a British-engined dragster (Sponsored by Martin Holgate)- Sag Southworth “Daddy Cool” 9.135

Fastest MPH – Bob Hawkins “Time Traveller II” 203.35mph

Quickest E.T. -Bob Hawkins “Time Traveller II” 6.630 (7th win in a row!)

Best Newcomer - Philippa Turton “Bitchcraft”

Best Radical/Dragster - Sag Southworth “Daddy Cool”

Best Altered -Team B-Sting “B-Sting”

Best Slingshot -Rob & Pete Brown “Wrathchild”

Best Turned Out -Team Ratcatcher “Ratcatcher Resurrection"

Best Achiever -Bob Morgan “B-Sting"

Perseverance Award - Bob Hawkins “Time Traveller II” (3rd win in a row!)

Personal Achievement (Daddy Cool Sag) -Team Daddy Cool “Daddy Cool”

Derek & Brenda Annable trophy - The Tramm family – Yvonne, Steve, Spencer & Kirstie

Crew of the Year -Dave Williams “Time Traveller II” (and a very moving tribute read from Bob)

Scottie Durrant Above & Beyond Award – Team Daddy Cool “Daddy Cool”

C & C Sportsperson - Hayley Fyfe “Wrathchild” and more!

Crazy Chris Showmanship Award – Team Ratcatcher “Ratcatcher Resurrection”


The 2016 winners, Alan Loten & Steve Williams, presented the Shield to the 2017 winners:

Team Daddy Cool with their “Daddy Cool” Rear-engined dragster

There was a huge standing ovation for the team, and it was a very emotional, popular and well-deserved win. Big congratulations to the whole team and wonderful tribute in honour and loving memory of Sag.

Many Congratulations to all our winners! Well done on all your achievements! Best Wishes to all of the Bunch for the off season! Good luck with all your winter rebuilds, builds and freshen ups! Looking forward to next season already, for our 23rd year of The Wild Bunch!!!

Best wishes to you all!

  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
The Wild Bunch Forums © The Wild Bunch Nostalgia Drag Racing Club Go To Top Of Page
Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07